Home Kriya: 6 Powerful Techniques to Clean Your Body

Kriya: 6 Powerful Techniques to Clean Your Body


Shatkarma Kriyas are considered to be Advanced Yogic Practices which help one cleanse the whole system of Body, Mind, and Energy.

shatkarma kriyas - soulprajna

What are Shatkarma Kriyas?

Kriya also referred to as Shatkarmas. Shatkarms are six groups of the cleansing process.

“Shat” means Six and “Karma” means Action.

The aim of performing these 6 Kriyas is to create harmony between the major pranic flows that is Ida and Pingala leading to the balance of Mental and Physical Purifications.

According to Ayurveda, there are three doshas namely Vata (Wind), Pitta (Bile), and Kapha (Mucus).

Disease caused in the human body due to an imbalance in any one of the three doshas or in all the three doshas.

Shatkarma Kriyas are used to balance these three Doshas.

These Shatkarma Kriyas are to be learned under the guidance of Yoga teachers not to be practiced by reading books or anything of that sort.

Shatkarma Kriyas will greatly benefit the seekers of the Truth to reach the higher states of consciousness without any disease by removing all the toxins in the body. Yoga coupled with kriya would impact positively on your overall health and well being.

Shatkarma Kriyas

There are 6 Shatkarmas which are briefly discussed here.


Neti helps one to cleanse the nasal passages helping in Pranayamas.

There are four different Neti.

  • Jala Neti – You will be using Water as a cleansing material.

  • Sutra Neti – You will be using Thread as a cleansing material.

  • Ghrita Neti – Using ghee to cleanse the nasal passage.

  • Dugha Neti – Using milk to cleanse the nasal passage.


Dhauti help cleanse the entire alimentary canal from the mouth to the anus.

There are three ways it can be performed.

  1. Antar Dhauti – Internal Cleansing.

    Antar Dhauti is again classified into 4 types.

    • Vatsara Dhauti – Expelling air through the anus.

    • Varisara Dhauti – Evacuating a large quantity of water through the bowels.

    • Vahnisara Dhauti – Rapid expansion or contraction of the abdomen.

    • Bahiskrita Dhauti – Washing rectum in the hands.


  2. Sirsha Dhauti – Head Cleansing.

  3. Hrid Dhauti – Thoracic Cleansing.

    Hrid Dhauti is again classified into three types.

    • Danda Dhauti – Inserting a soft banana stem into the stomach.

    • Vastra Dhauti – Swallowing a long thin strip of cloth.

    • Vaman Dhauti – Regurgitating the contents of the stomach.


Nauli Kriya is performed to message and strengthen the abdominal muscles.

Vasti or Basti

Vasti Kriya techniques are to wash and toning up the large intestine.

Vasti or Basti is again classified into 2 types.

  1. Jala Vasti – Sucking the water into the Anus and expelling it.

  2. Sthala Vasti – You suck air into the large intestine and expel it through the anus.


Kapalbhati Kriya is to purify the frontal region of the brain.

Kapalbhati has three ways to practice.

  1. Vatkrama Kapalbhati – Similar to Bhastrika Pranayama.

  2. Vyutkrama Kapalbhati – Sucking water through the nose and expelling it through the mouth.

  3. Sheetkrama Kapalbhati – Sucking water through the nose.


Trataka is used to develop the power of concentration.

There are two different ways to perform Trataka.

  1. Antar Trataka – Focusing on the eyebrow center by closing your eyes.

  2. Bahir Trataka – Focusing on the external object for one-pointedness focus and attention.

“Medashleshmaadhikaha poorvam shatkarmaani samaacharet.
Anyastu naacharettaani doshaanaam samabhaavataha.”

When fat or mucus is excessive, the shatkarmas or six cleansing techniques should be practised before (pranayama). Others, in whom the doshas (i.e. phlegm, wind and bile) are balanced, need not do them.

Hatha Yoga Pradipika (2:21)

Shatkarma Kriyas Benefits

Some of the wonderful benefits that Shatkarma will bestow upon individuals who perform them under the guidance of an expert yoga teacher. 

  • Strengthen and tones the abdominal muscles.
  • Reduces Heartburn.
  • Eases menstrual problems.
  • Improves the functioning of the reproductive system.
  • Regulates and stimulates digestion.
  • Purifies the liver.
  • Prepares you for advanced Pranayama.
  • Stimulates the subtle energy centers called Chakras.
  • Activates the individual chakras.
  • Bring balance between the doshas.
  • Mind and Body get balanced.
  • Balancing the pranic flow in Ida and Pingala Nadi.
  • It Helps in activating the Sushumna Nadi.
  • To remove the toxins from the body.
  • Cleanse the body from inside out.
  • The Internal system like blood circulation, digestion, respiratory systems, and immunity gets improved.

How to learn Shatkarma Kriyas?

Shatkarma Kriyas are to be learned under the guidance of a guru. However, we have given a detailed description of each of the Shatkarma.


Want to learn more about the different Spiritual Sadhanas to practice at your Home? Receive a Free Guide on how to re-align your energies and Free Spiritual Guidance.

Let's tread the path to divinity!